To Sheep or Not To Sheep


For longer than I care to remember, I’ve been cutting my own hair.  Not necessarily because I want to, but because I could not find a hairdresser who would do what I wanted.  So I did it myself.  Long in front and sides, short in the back.  Hey, wait a minute, don’t I see that haircut on every other woman and their three-year-old?

Yup, sure do.  You know it better as the Kate Gosselin. Now the question is, did Kate Gosselin see me at the Paper Party or did she dream up the hairstyle all by herself just like I did a hundred years ago.  Fact of the matter is that I had this haircut long before Kate’s brood was a twinkle in her fertility doctor’s eye.

I remember asking a hairdresser on Penn Street in Reading – back in the days when there was a hairdresser on Penn Street – to chop off the back of my hair and leave the front long.  He did exactly the opposite.  I gave a few more stylists a try, but the concept was just too un-stylish.  So I rigged my bathroom with mirrors and started to hack away.

After 15 or so years, I have it down pretty well.  It looks good, styles good, and stays good.  Trouble is, I now look like everybody who walks out of every two-bit clip joint in the county.  And if there’s one thing I don’t do well it’s follow like sheep.  I don’t want to look like everybody else and I can’t for the life of me imagine why anyone would want to look like the rest of the crowd.

Which begs the question, “What do I do with my hair?” I could dye it blonde, add hair extensions, have 8 kids and a reality show … but I digress.

Right now I’m holding on to the hope that the next style will usher its way in very soon and that every mother and their daughter will latch onto the cut as fervently as they emulated Kate Gosselin.

…  hmmmmm … emulate Kate Gosselin … go figure.

Leave a Reply

