Faceless on Facebook


Facebook has over 500 million active users.  On any given day, 50% of those active users log on to FB. The average user has 130 FB friends.  People spend over 700 billion minutes per month on FB.

These are the facts as stated on Facebook’s pressroom statistics page.

What the stats don’t tell you is how many of the average 130 friends have been blocked or hidden from view by the 500 million users.

I’m new to FB.  I have only 31 FB friends. In the five or six weeks that I’ve been a FB user, I’ve already blocked 5 of those people.  And this morning I blocked Barack Obama … don’t know how his post made it onto my page:  I specifically designated posts from “friends” only …

When I made my “friend” requests, I was thrilled that no one turned me down. Then a few weeks passed, and no one commented on my posts, which, BTW, were few, and had nothing to do with paint drying or what I had for breakfast. I tried asking a question to see if I could spur a response. I sent a few messages to my “friends” in response to their posts.  Still nothing.

Either I’ve been blocked or hidden by all of my “friends” or I am the dullest person on the face of the earth. But wait, I’ve read others’ posts … you really can watch paint dry.  Worse yet, people comment on the status of that paint drying.

I am beginning to accept the fact that I am invisible on FB.  Now if I could only break the habit of checking in every 15 minutes to see if anyone’s missed me …

Leave a Reply

